CEMAT (Center for Computational and Stochastic Mathematics) is a Research Unit of Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa (IST-UL), hosted by the Department of Mathematics and with a research/management Pole at Faculdade de Ciências, Universidade de Lisboa (FC-UL). CEMAT was founded in 1996 with the original name of Center for Applied Mathematics, and later named Center for Mathematics and its Applications.  The Center is funded by FCT (Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia), Project UID/Multi/04621/2013 and is a member of CIM (International Mathematics Center). Presently, it has 40 PhD Members from several institutions, 9 PhD Students and 41 Collaborators.

Research Areas



amim'24 - Autumn Meeting of Industrial Mathematics

The aim of this meeting is the sharing of knowledge and experience in the field of Industrial Mathematics, focusing on the application of mathematics to solve complex real-world problems across various domains with economic, social, biological, and technological value. ...

Predator-prey and epidemiology models using transport equations

I will present some models in ecology and epidemiology using a transport equation approach, so called structured models. The first models are of predator-prey type and include a variable hunger structure. They take the form of nonlocal transport equations coupled to ODE...

NOVAMATH Thematic Weeks 2024: Exploring Pharmaceutical Frontiers in Drug Discovery, Within-Host Dynamics, and Clinical Trials

The Center for Mathematics and Applications (NOVA Math) is pleased to extend an invitation to the NOVA Math Thematic Weeks 2024, themed 'Exploring Pharmaceutical Frontiers in Drug Discovery, Within-Host Dynamics, and Clinical Trials'. This event, jointly organized by NO...

Members of the Board

Manuel Scotto (President)  |  Carlota Rebelo Gonçalves (Coordinator of the Scientific Council)

Members of the Executive Committee

Manuel Scotto (President)  |   Carlota Rebelo  |   Conceição Amado  |  Ana Leonor Silvestre (Vice-President)

Members of the International Advisory Board

Alfio Quarteroni (Chair)  |  Ivan Graham  |  Jean-Éric Pin  |  Peter Rousseeuw